Basic Information on Women Empowerment at ECLAT

We would like to dedicate this information letter to the women empowerment at ECLAT. When we talk about the role and position of women in other cultures, we as Europeans must be careful not to judge and condemn according to our own standards – even if conditions are incomprehensible or seem unacceptable to us. “I know what is good for you” has rather neo-colonial features and is certainly not the right way. We, in upendo too, must be careful not to export our values – even if only unconsciously. This is especially true for ECLAT’s women empowerment among the Maasai. We are happy to support the work of Philomena who, as a Maasai woman, wants to change the position of women in her homeland step by step together with her co-workers. Of course, we discuss her work with her, but in the end the fundamental decisions have to come from ECLAT and not from us. Fortunately, there are other local organisations in Tanzania involved in women empowerment from which ECLAT can learn and which can learn from ECLAT.

The ECLAT Women Empowerment

Lessons for a women’s group at the women’s centre

Philomena founded ECLAT’s women empowerment a few years ago and presently leads it. This includes the supervision of 75 women’s groups in the villages of the district; groups which have been formed in the last few years. After all, that is clearly more than 2000 women. The groups are visited in their villages by ECLAT staff to discuss their experiences and problems. Almost all of the groups have now received a micro-credit which they can use to learn to manage their own businesses. They find it difficult to suddenly have their own money and also to be successful with it. Some groups have economic success, others hardly any. ECLAT also has to learn to advise and support them. This is not an easy task and the most immediate approach is to use the money in the way the Maasai traditionally do, i.e. to breed cattle, thus exposing the women’s commitment to the well-known risks such as the lack of fodder at the end of the dry season.
For the past two years, each week one of the women’s groups has been meeting at ECLAT’s women empowerment seminar centre to be trained by the two teachers on issues important to them and to reflect together on the group and its success or failure. ECLAT has to constantly adapt the content of these seminars as well as the meetings in the villages to new developments and experiences in order to optimise the work.

Catherine’s Task and Role

Growing vegetables is also on the curriculum

Catherine Maguzu has been working at ECLAT for several years. She is a well-educated social scientist and experienced in women empowerment, even though she is not Maasai herself. She lives in Arusha with her husband and children. Empowering women is a matter close to her heart and she is accepted and welcomed by all as a counsellor. Besides other tasks at ECLAT, she accompanies and supervises the women empowerment as a close confidant of Philomena. The processes in women empowerment need continuous adjustments, which need to be carefully analysed and considered. We have asked Catherine to write something fundamental about women empowerment for this newsletter.

Women Empowerment and Development – Successful Methods in ECLAT Projects

ECLAT women empowerment is primarily aimed at Maasai women. Social norms and structures and traditional role models often prevent them from being able to develop freely and to participate in political, social and economic life on an equal footing. Through (consciousness-raising) education, women will be empowered and their opportunities for action expanded. It is important to include men (fathers, brothers, partners) and to raise their awareness of the issue.

The establishment of women’s groups is an important framework for this educational work. Good social networking within the groups creates the basis for trust based cooperation with the aim of equipping women with the knowledge, skills and self-confidence necessary to participate in the development process in a well-informed and self-determined manner. Women’s literacy is an important key to improving health, nutrition and education in society and empowering women to participate in decision-making processes in society.
Capacity building should pay special attention to the needs of women to ensure that their skills and experience are fully utilised in decision-making at all levels. In addition, adult learning principles will be applied in training, with practical sessions complementing theory sessions.

Promoting new unconventional roles for women helps to change mindsets, values and norms. The creation of role models takes place throughout the programme. Training women as community resource persons or training of trainers in village communities supports the emergence of new role models, thus challenging confining stereotypes. Women become change agents and actors in the community.

This is also helped by teaching them the skills to earn an income beyond traditional occupations, and thus to achieve economic self-sufficiency. The proportion of small and medium-sized enterprises owned by women is an indication of the change that is taking place, and thus of women’s equal access to the labour market and social security systems.

ECLAT’s educational work is complemented by the provision of micro-credits. The concept of the Village Savings and Loans Association has proven to be very helpful in strengthening solidarity and discipline among group members and in promoting a savings culture among women. It ensures that they have equal and increased control over their financial resources and access to financial services.

Another foundation of ECLAT’s women empowerment is the provision of micro-credits to groups that are officially registered to support their small businesses. Microfinance support to women’s groups should always be preceded by training in simple business management.

Professional monitoring ensures a continuous comparison of the of the actually achieved learning / development goals with the original programme goals and the resources used to achieve them, thus enabling the necessary adjustments to be made.

Last but not least, close cooperation with regional government authorities and government advisors as well as with local village leaders is crucial, as they can act as gatekeepers to restrict women’s access to resources. Men should be involved in the women’s programme from the beginning so that they understand the activities and benefits and can support the women. Among the Maasai, the laigwanan is a highly respected leader in the village community. He and the men as a whole have a vital interest in ensuring that the activities planned for the success of the programme are actually carried out.

Catherine Maguzu
German version: Marita Sand

Photos: Rüdiger Fessel 2016/2017 (1,2), ECLAT 2021 (3)

CategoryInfobrief
© 2014-2021 upendo e.V
Photos © 2014-2021 Ruediger Fessel
Design & techn. implementation: netzwerkstudio
Responsible for content: Tim Mueller
Translation: Marita Sand

Grundlegendes zur Frauenarbeit von ECLAT

Diesen Informationsbrief möchten wir der Frauenarbeit von ECLAT widmen. Wenn wir über die Rolle und Stellung von Frauen in anderen Kulturen sprechen, müssen wir uns als Europäer davor hüten, nach unseren Maßstäben zu urteilen und zu verurteilen – auch wenn Zustände für uns unverständlich sind oder unakzeptabel erscheinen. „Ich weiß, was für dich gut ist“, hat eher neokoloniale Züge und ist sicherlich nicht der richtige Weg. Auch wir von upendo müssen uns davor hüten, unsere Wertvorstellungen exportieren zu wollen – und sei es nur unbewusst. Das gilt besonders für die Frauenarbeit von ECLAT bei den Massai. Wir unterstützen diese Arbeit von Philomena gerne, die als Massai-Frau zusammen mit ihren Mitarbeiterinnen die Stellung der Frauen in ihrer Heimat Schrittchen für Schrittchen verändern möchte. Selbstverständlich diskutieren wir mit ihr über ihre Arbeit, letztendlich aber müssen die grundlegenden Entscheidungen dazu von ECLAT kommen und nicht von uns. Glücklicherweise gibt es auch andere einheimische Organisationen in Tansania, die sich mit Frauenarbeit beschäftigen und von denen ECLAT lernen kann und die von ECLAT lernen können.

Die Frauenarbeit von ECLAT

Unterricht für eine Frauengruppe im Frauenzentrum

Philomena hat die Frauenarbeit von ECLAT vor ein paar Jahren gegründet und leitet sie. Dazu gehört die Betreuung von 75 Frauengruppen in den Dörfern des Distrikts, die sich in den letzten Jahren formiert haben. Immerhin sind das deutlich mehr als 2000 Frauen. Die Gruppen werden von den Mitarbeiterinnen von ECLAT in den Dörfern besucht, um über ihre Erfahrungen und Probleme zu beraten. Fast alle Gruppen haben inzwischen einen Mikrokredit erhalten, mit dem sie selbst zu wirtschaften lernen sollen. Sie tun sich schwer damit, auf einmal eigenes Geld zu besitzen und damit auch noch erfolgreich wirtschaften zu sollen. Einige Gruppen haben wirtschaftlichen Erfolg, andere kaum. Auch ECLAT muss lernen, sie zu beraten und zu betreuen. Das ist keine einfache Aufgabe und der naheliegendste Versuch, das Geld so einzusetzen, wie es Massai traditionell machen, nämlich Rinder zu züchten, setzen das Engagement der Frauen den bekannten Risiken wie dem Futtermangel zum Ende der Trockenzeit aus.

Seit zwei Jahren kommt nun Woche für Woche eine der Frauengruppen im Seminarzentrum für die Frauenarbeit von ECLAT zusammen, um dort von den beiden Lehrerinnen in ihnen wichtigen Themen geschult zu werden und gemeinsam über die Gruppe und ihren Erfolg oder Misserfolg nachzudenken. ECLAT muss die Inhalte dieser Seminare wie auch die Treffen in den Dörfern ständig neuen Entwicklungen und Erfahrungen anpassen, um die Arbeit zu optimieren.

Aufgabe und Rolle von Catherine

Auch der Anbau von Gemüse steht auf dem Lehrplan

Seit einigen Jahren arbeitet Catherine Maguzu bei ECLAT. Sie ist eine gut ausgebildete Sozial-wissenschaftlerin und in der Frauenarbeit erfahren, auch wenn sie selbst keine Massai ist. Sie lebt mit ihrem Mann und ihren Kindern in Arusha. Ihr ist die Stärkung von Frauen eine Herzensangelegenheit, und sie wird von allen als Beraterin akzeptiert und willkommen geheißen. Neben anderen Aufgaben bei ECLAT begleitet und supervisiert sie die Frauenarbeit als enge Vertraute von Philomena. Die Entwicklungen in der Frauenarbeit brauchen kontinuierlich Anpassungen, die sorgfältig analysiert und bedacht werden müssen. Wir haben Catherine gebeten, uns für diesen Informationsbrief einmal etwas Grundsätzliches zum Thema Frauenarbeit zu schreiben.

Empowerment und Entwicklung – Erfolgreiche Methoden der ECLAT Frauenarbeit

Die ECLAT Frauen-Arbeit richtet sich vor allem an die Massai-Frauen. Soziale Normen und Strukturen und traditionelle Rollenbilder hindern sie oftmals daran, sich frei zu entfalten und gleichberechtigt am politischen, gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Leben teilzuhaben. Durch (Bewusstseins-)Bildung sollen Frauen gestärkt und ihre Handlungsmöglichkeiten erweitert werden. Dabei ist es wichtig, auch die Männer (Väter, Brüder, Partner) einzubeziehen und für das Thema zu sensibilisieren.

Die Etablierung von Frauengruppen ist ein wichtiger Rahmen für diese Bildungsarbeit. Die gute soziale Vernetzung innerhalb der Gruppen schafft die Grundlage für eine vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ziel, Frauen mit dem Wissen, den Fähigkeiten und dem Selbstvertrauen auszustatten, die notwendig sind, um sich gut informiert und selbstbestimmt am Entwicklungsprozess beteiligen zu können. Die Alphabetisierung von Frauen ist ein wichtiger Schlüssel zur Verbesserung von Gesundheit, Ernährung und Bildung in der Gesellschaft und zur Befähigung von Frauen, an Entscheidungsprozessen in der Gesellschaft teilzunehmen.

Beim Aufbau von Kapazitäten sollen die Bedürfnisse von Frauen besonders berücksichtigt werden, um sicherzustellen, dass ihre Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen bei der Entscheidungsfindung auf allen Ebenen voll genutzt werden. Darüber hinaus sollen in den Schulungen Prinzipien der Erwachsenenbildung angewandt werden, bei denen praktische Einheiten die Theorieeinheiten ergänzen.

Die Förderung neuer unkonventioneller Rollen für Frauen trägt dazu bei, Denkweisen, Werte und Normen zu verändern. Die Schaffung von Rollenmodellen erfolgt während der gesamten Laufzeit des Programms. Die Ausbildung von Frauen als Community Resource Persons oder Training of Trainers in den Dorfgemeinden unterstützt die Herausbildung neuer Rollenmodelle und stellt so einengende Stereotypen in Frage. Frauen werden zu Change Agents und Akteurinnen in der Gemeinde.

Dazu trägt auch die Vermittlung der Fähigkeit bei, ein Einkommen jenseits traditioneller Berufe zu erzielen, und dadurch wirtschaftliche Eigenständigkeit zu erreichen. Der Anteil der kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, die sich im Besitz von Frauen befinden, ist ein Indiz für den stattfindenden Wandel und damit einhergehend für den gleichberechtigten Zugang von Frauen zum Arbeitsmarkt und zu den sozialen Sicherungssystemen.

Die ECLAT Bildungsarbeit wird ergänzt durch die Bereitstellung von Mikrokrediten. Das Konzept der Village Savings and Loans Association hat sich als sehr hilfreich erwiesen, um die Solidarität und Disziplin der Gruppenmitglieder zu stärken und eine Sparkultur unter den Frauen zu fördern. Es stellt sicher, dass sie gleichberechtigt und verstärkt Kontrolle über ihre finanziellen Ressourcen und Zugang zu Finanzdienstleistungen haben. Eine weitere Grundlage der ECLAT Frauenarbeit ist die Bereitstellung von Mikrokrediten an Gruppen, die zwecks Unterstützung ihrer kleinen Gewerbe offiziell registriert sind. Der Unterstützung von Mikrofinanzierungen für Frauengruppen sollte immer eine Schulung in einfacher Unternehmensführung vorausgehen.

Ein professionelles Monitoring stellt einen kontinuierlichen Abgleich der tatsächlich erreichten Lern-/Entwicklungsziele mit den ursprünglichen Programmzielen und den dafür eingesetzten Res-sourcen sicher und ermöglicht so die notwendigen Anpassungen.

Und last but not least ist die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den regionalen Regierungsbehörden und Regierungsberatern sowie mit den lokalen Dorfvorstehern von entscheidender Bedeutung, da diese als gatekeeper den Zugang von Frauen zu Ressourcen beschränken können. Männer sollten von Anfang an in das Frauenprogramm einbezogen werden, damit sie die Aktivitäten und die Vorteile verstehen und die Frauen unterstützen können. Bei den Massai ist der Laigwanan eine in der Dorfgemeinschaft hoch angesehene Führungspersönlichkeit. Er und die Männer insgesamt haben ein großes Interesse daran, dass die für den Programmerfolg geplanten Aktivitäten durchgeführt werden.

von Catherine Maguzu
Deutsche Fassung: Marita Sand

Fotos: Rüdiger Fessel 2016/2017 (1,2), ECLAT 2021 (3)

CategoryInfobrief
© 2014-2021 upendo e.V
Fotos © 2014-2021 Rüdiger Fessel
Design & techn. Implementierung: netzwerkstudio
Verantwortlich für Inhalte: Tim Müller
Übersetzungen: Marita Sand