upendo information event


The information event on April 14, 2018 was well attended. We thank our patron, Minister Herbert Reul, for his participation and his appreciative and encouraging greeting. Toima and Philomena Kiroya, heads of our Tanzanian partner organisation ECLAT, reported first-hand on the current status of the projects. Many thanks to everyone who took part!

Information event on April 14, 2018 in Leichlingen; from left to right: Minister of the Interior Herbert Reul, Mayor Frank Steffes, Rebecca Trienekens-Domrös, Philomena Kiroya, Fred Heimbach, Toima Kiroya

Housing for secondary school teachers

The construction of the secondary school in Emboreet continues at a rapid pace. On February 19, 2018, we were once again able to hand over new buildings to the district government as operator of the school, this time six terraced houses as a domicile for the school’s teachers. As boarding school teachers, they have to live on the school grounds in order to be able to look after the students after class. Until now, however, the teachers lived in the villages in the area, often came to school too late in the morning due to the long distances and returned home early. Only the headmaster and two families of teachers already lived on the site. The teachers had been asking for apartments for a long time, now they were looking forward to their apartments and were very grateful. When the day’s events were over, all 14 remaining teachers moved into the new houses the same evening. Now they can devote the whole day to the education of their students instead of spending their time on long marches.

Minister Sinkamba Kandege presents the handover certificate for the residential buildings; next to him the district commissioner Zephania A. Chaula and Alexander Nikolakis, deputy head of upendo


On the same day, the foundation stone was laid for new dormitories for girls. They are to be opened as early as May, so that girls can also be admitted to the upper stage in June for the new school year – making them the first in the district.

Final examinations at secondary school

The results of last year’s final examinations are now also available. The headmaster proudly told us that all pupils passed the intermediate examination after the first two school years, and even quite well: 18 very good, 13 good, 21 satisfactory and 16 sufficient. The results of the final exams after four school years (secondary school leaving certificate) were also good and significantly better than in the previous years: the school came in 8th out of 63 schools in the region and 224th out of 1,738 schools in the country. These students have already benefited from the rapid expansion of the school through upendo and also from the good equipment of the school with teachers who are funded by the district government. Our cooperation is bearing more and more fruit!

New classrooms for Malambo

Traditional dances at the handover ceremony of the new classrooms in Malambo

On February 16, 2018, we handed over three new classrooms to the district government as the operator of the primary school in Malambo (Ngorongoro district). More than 1,200 students are currently being taught at this school. Many of them live in boarding schools on the school grounds. But the school was once built for 350 children. As a consequence many children are “crammed” into a classroom for instruction, sometimes more than 100 – and the learning outcomes correspond to these circumstances. On top of that, the rooms are getting on in years and need renovation. Despite this, it was a beautiful handover ceremony with traditional dances and songs – and with many, many children who are hopeful about a future, despite few chances. Fortunately, the expansion of the school continues: ECLAT started building

Thoughts on upendo’s project work during our visit in February

The opportunity to see the projects supported by upendo and carried out by ECLAT in real life and to experience the associated environment ‘live’ is invaluable. This made it possible for us to combine initially rather abstract information about the projects with our own experiences and with encounters on site – in other words, to experience them in reality. At numerous meetings and consultations with local leaders, school principals, teachers and women’s groups, we were able to gain our own unadulterated impressions on site. These diverse impressions are difficult to summarize due to the wide range of perspectives. They ranged from the joy and gratitude of the local population for the positive development of their environment to the many difficulties, obstacles and adversities that contribute to the fact that some things do not run as one would ideally like them to. However, we would like to share one important insight, even if it sounds banal at first: access to education, and thus the possibility to learn something about oneself and the world, is the key to a self-determined life. Whoever is denied this is also deprived of the chance of an independent and fulfilled life. That is why every investment in education is right and important, because it forms the foundation for the further development of a society. Each of the schools that have been renovated or newly built so far is an important building block in this process and can ideally provide a future for the children on site.

The fear of the loss of traditions – probably one of the reasons why education has not had a high status among the Maasai so far – is not unfounded. Traditionally living tribes with their treasure of customs and traditions are in the absolute minority in our globalized industrialized world – not only in Tanzania, but worldwide. It is therefore a delicat balancing act that requires great caution to show ways and possibilities for a better, sustainable future for the Maasai without compulsively prescribing it from an outsider perspective. In the course of such a transformation, one should take great care in order not to make unverified judgements on traditions and values; instead of throwing them overboard as something outdated and negative the challenge is to rather try to view them with the prudent eye of reason and strive to find a worthy replacement. An alternative approach that can be integrated into a future life and in which tradition could live on in a transformed form. If it were possible to perceive further development as an opportunity and not as a threat, a great deal would be gained. The prerequisite for this is information, which ultimately cannot be achieved without education.

Sibylle Eck and Alexander Nikolakis

Photos: (1) Rüdiger Fessel (April 2018), (2) Fred Heimbach (Februar 2018), (3) Sibylle Eck (Februar 2018)
Layout: Heike Ponge
Translation: Marita Sand

CategoryInfobrief
© 2014-2019 upendo e.V
Photos © 2014-2019 Ruediger Fessel
Design & techn. implementation: netzwerkstudio
Responsible for content: Tim Mueller
Translation: Marita Sand

upendo Informationsveranstaltung


Die Informationsveranstaltung am 14. April 2018 war gut besucht. Wir danken unserem Schirmherrn, Minister Herbert Reul, für seine Teilnahme und sein anerkennendes und ermutigendes Grußwort. Toima und Philomena Kiroya, Leiter unserer tansanischen Partnerorganisation ECLAT, berichteten aus erster Hand über den aktuellen Stand der Projekte. Vielen Dank an alle, die teilgenommen haben!

Informationsveranstaltung am 14. April 2018 in Leichlingen; v.l.n.r: Innenminister Herbert Reul, Bürgermeister Frank Steffes, Rebecca Trienekens-Domrös, Philomena Kiroya, Fred Heimbach, Toima Kiroya

Wohnhäuser für Lehrer der Sekundarschule

Der Aufbau der Sekundarschule in Emboreet geht in großen Schritten weiter. Am 19. Februar 2018 konnten wir der Distriktregierung als Betreiber der Schule wieder einmal neue Gebäude übergeben, dieses Mal sechs Reihenhäuser als Domizil für die Lehrer der Schule. Als Internatsschullehrer müssen sie auf dem Schulgelände wohnen, um die Schüler auch nach dem Unterricht betreuen zu können. Bisher aber wohnten die Lehrer in den Dörfern der Umgebung, kamen aufgrund der langen Wege morgens oft zu spät zur Schule und machten sich früh wieder auf den Heimweg. Nur der Schulleiter und zwei Lehrerfamilien wohnten bereits auf dem Gelände. Die Lehrer hatten schon lange um Wohnungen gebeten, jetzt freuten sie sich auf ihre Wohnungen und bedankten sich vielmals. Als die Veranstaltungen des Tages beendet waren, bezogen alle verbliebenen 14 Lehrer noch am gleichen Abend die neuen Häuser. Nun können sie sich den ganzen Tag über intensiv der Ausbildung ihrer Schüler widmen, statt ihre Zeit mit langen Märschen zu verbringen.

Minister Sinkamba Kandege präsentiert die Übergabeurkunde für die Wohnhäuser; neben ihm der Distrikt-Commissioner Zephania A. Chaula und Alexander Nikolakis, stellvertretender Leiter von upendo

Noch am selben Tag wurde auch der Grundstein für neue Dormitorien für Mädchen gelegt. Sie sollen bereits im Mai eröffnet werden, sodass im Juni, zum neuen Schuljahr, auch Mädchen in die Oberstufe aufgenommen werden können – damit werden sie die ersten im Distrikt sein.

Abschlussprüfungen an der Sekundarschule

Inzwischen liegen auch die Ergebnisse der letztjährigen Abschlussprüfungen vor. Stolz berichtete uns der Schulleiter, dass alle Schülerinnen und Schüler die Zwischenprüfung nach den ersten beiden Schuljahren bestanden haben, und sogar recht gut: 18 sehr gut, 13 gut, 21 befriedigend und 16 ausreichend. Auch die Ergebnisse der Abschlussprüfungen nach vier Schuljahren (Realschulabschluss) waren gut und deutlich besser als in den Jahren zuvor: Die Schule schnitt als beste des Distrikts ab, belegte Rang 8 von 63 Schulen der Region und Rang 224 von 1.738 Schulen des Landes. Diese Schüler profitierten bereits von dem zügigen Ausbau der Schule durch upendo und der guten Ausstattung der Schule mit Lehrern durch die Distriktregierung. Unsere Zusammenarbeit zeigt immer mehr Früchte!

Neue Klassenräume für Malambo

Traditionelle Tänze bei der Übergabefeier der neuen Klassenräume in Malambo

Am 16. Februar 2018 konnten wir der Distrikt-regierung als Betreiber der Primarschule in Malambo (Ngorongoro-Distrikt) drei neue Klassenräume übergeben. An dieser Schule werden zzt. mehr als 1.200 Schülerinnen und Schüler unterrichtet. Viele davon leben im Internat auf dem Schulgelände. Gebaut aber wurde die Schule einmal für 350 Kinder. Entsprechend viele Kinder werden zum Unterricht in einen Klassenraum „gepfercht“, teilweise über 100 – mit entsprechenden Lernergebnissen. Die Räume sind obendrein in die Jahre gekommen und renovierungsbedürftig. Trotzdem war es eine schöne Übergabefeier mit traditionellen Tänzen und Gesängen – und mit vielen, vielen Kindern, die hoffnungsvoll in eine Zukunft blicken, trotz geringer Chancen. Glücklicherweise geht der Ausbau der Schule weiter: ECLAT hat nur zwei Wochen später mit dem Neubau weiterer Klassenräume begonnen.

Gedanken zur Projektarbeit von upendo anlässlich unserer Besuchsreise im Februar

Die Möglichkeit, die von upendo unterstützten und von ECLAT durchgeführten Projekte in der Realität zu sehen und das zugehörige Umfeld ‚live‘ mitzuerleben, ist von unschätzbarem Wert. Denn dadurch wurde es uns erst möglich, zunächst abstrakte Informationen über die Projekte mit eigenen Erlebnissen und Begegnungen vor Ort zu verknüpfen, – diese also in der Realität zu erfahren.

Bei zahlreichen Treffen und Beratungen mit Ortsvorstehern, Schulleitern, Lehrern und Frauengruppen konnten wir vor Ort eigene, unverfälschte Eindrücke gewinnen. Diese vielfältigen Eindrücke lassen sich aufgrund der großen Bandbreite nur schwer zusammenfassen. Sie reichten von Freude & Dankbarkeit der lokalen Bevölkerung darüber, dass sich ihr Umfeld positiv weiterentwickelt bis hin zu den vielen Schwierigkeiten, Hindernissen und Widrigkeiten, die dazu beitragen, dass manches nicht so läuft, wie man es sich idealerweise wünschen würde. Eine wichtige Erkenntnis möchten wir jedoch teilen, auch wenn sie sich zunächst banal anhört: Der Zugang zu Bildung, und damit die Möglichkeit etwas über sich und über die Welt zu lernen, ist der Schlüssel zu einem selbstbe-stimmten Leben. Wem dies verweigert wird, dem wird auch die Chance auf ein eigenständiges und erfülltes Leben genommen. Deswegen ist jede Investition in Bildung richtig und wichtig, denn sie bildet das Fundament für die Weiterentwicklung einer Gesellschaft. Jede einzelne der Schulen, die bisher renoviert oder neu gebaut wurden, ist ein wichtiger Baustein in diesem Prozess und kann idealerweise den Kindern vor Ort eine Zukunft ermöglichen.

Die Furcht vor dem Verlust der Traditionen, – wohl mit einer der Gründe, weshalb Bildung bislang keinen hohen Stellenwert bei den Massai hatte – ist nicht unbegründet. Denn traditionell lebende Volksstämme mit ihrem Schatz an Brauchtum und Überlieferungen sind in unserer globalisierten industrialisierten Welt in der absoluten Minderheit – nicht nur in Tansania, sondern weltweit.

Es ist daher ein schwieriger, große Behutsamkeit erfordernder Balanceakt, Wege und Möglichkeiten einer besseren, nachhaltigen Zukunft für die Massai aufzuzeigen, ohne diese zwanghaft von außen vorzuschreiben. Im Zuge einer solchen Transformation sollte man sich davor hüten, Traditionen und Werte einfach ungeprüft als überkommen und negativ zu bewerten und über Bord zu werfen, sondern vielmehr versuchen, diese mit dem abwägenden Blick des Vernünftigen zu betrachten und sich bemühen, einen würdigen Ersatz zu finden. Ein Surrogat, das sich auch in ein künftiges Leben integrieren lässt und in dem die Tradition in verwandelter Form weiterleben könnte. Wenn es gelänge, Weiterentwicklung als Chance zu verstehen und nicht als Bedrohung, wäre sehr viel gewonnen. Die Voraussetzung dafür ist Aufklärung, die letztlich nicht ohne Bildung zu erreichen ist.

Sibylle Eck und Alexander Nikolakis

Fotos: (1) Rüdiger Fessel (April 2018), (2) Fred Heimbach (Februar 2018), (3) Sibylle Eck (Februar 2018)
Layout: Heike Ponge;

CategoryInfobrief
© 2014-2019 upendo e.V
Fotos © 2014-2019 Rüdiger Fessel
Design & techn. Implementierung: netzwerkstudio
Verantwortlich für Inhalte: Tim Müller
Übersetzungen: Marita Sand