Opening of the Seminar Center for Women


Opening of the seminar center for the women’s groups

After only five months of construction, the new seminar center for women’s work of ECLAT was opened on 5 October 2017. After all, these are five buildings: a dormitory with 30 beds, a wash and toilet house, a cafeteria with kitchen, a building with a classroom and offices, and a residential building for the seminar leaders. Julia Hannig from the German embassy in Dar es Salaam and Sören Hartmann, CEO of the DER Touristik Group, opened the center with a symbolic cut through the cutting line: In addition to the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, DER Touristik had kindly donated the funds for the construction of the center.

In the same week the seminars already started. In the first group thirty women met in the center for one week to discuss their work under the guidance two seminar facilitators: the success and failures of their commercial activities for which they use the granted microcredits, as well as topics related to health, education, parenting, hygiene and family planning.

A sheep as token of gratitude: a women`s group handing it over to Philomena, director of women’s work of ECLAT

For a Maasai woman, who usually cannot read and write and usually cannot leave her boma without the consent of her husband, attending a seminar lasting several days is something completely new. So far, few rights have been granted to women; such recognition as attending a seminar had never been experienced. Each week, another seminar is held for another group of women – the seminar center will greatly influence the Maasai culture.

This was already clear at the opening ceremony: the women were allowed to sit in the front under sun protection tarpaulins and on chairs, the men stood behind. And instead of long speeches, the women had requested many dances and songs. So gradually the skeptical faces of the men in the back rows relaxed. At the end of the party everybody stood up, women and men alike, and came forward with bright faces, so as not to miss anything. The quiet revolution has begun.

Graduation Ceremony of the Emboreet Secondary School

First experiments in the chemistry laboratory of the secondary school

A few days earlier, on September 29, 2017, this year’s graduation ceremony took place at the secondary school in Emboreet. For the first time, high school students were also able to attend, because since July, the first and only upper-level education in the entire district has taken place for 58 students. Guest of honor was once again Joel Bendera, Regional Commissioner of the Manyara Region. In all the speeches, the value of education was addressed and parents were encouraged to send their children to school. The growing number of first graders in primary schools shows that this mission is bearing fruit.
As in the past, it has already become a tradition during this celebration: ECLAT and upendo were again able to hand over newly completed buildings to the state as the school’s operator. Thanks to the support of the Welfare and Education Foundation, three natural science laboratories for biology, chemistry and physics have already been built this year and now offer the necessary facilities for introducing students to experimental learning. These laboratories are an integral part of secondary education in Tanzania, especially if the school’s educational focus is scientific and technical as it is the case in Emboreet.

Renovation of Primary Schools


Handover of the refurbished primary school classrooms in Loiborsoit

In the first half of 2017, ECLAT was also able to renovate the classrooms of the elementary schools in Loiborsoit and Narakauo. And thanks to partly new school furniture, the children no longer sit in half-ruined classrooms on broken benches. We also built new toilets for the pupils: the number of latrines was far from being sufficient; many were unusable. The primary school in Emboreet is a boarding school for the far-off children: ECLAT has refurbished the dormitories and refectory here so that the children can be adequately accommodated. The previous 50-year-old buildings had run down and were no longer usable. These circumstances did not motivate the parents to entrust their primary school children to the school – in the end, many children stayed at home. We thank DERPART, DER Touristik, the Erbacher Foundation, Fly & Help and the Schmitz foundations for the financial means that made these renovations possible.

Fotos:
Rüdiger Fessel (October 2017)

© 2014-2019 upendo e.V
Photos © 2014-2019 Ruediger Fessel
Design & techn. implementation: netzwerkstudio
Responsible for content: Tim Mueller
Translation: Marita Sand

Eröffnung des Seminarzentrums für Frauen

Eröffnung des Seminarzentrums für die Frauengruppen

Nach nur fünfmonatiger Bauzeit konnte am 5. Oktober 2017 das neue Seminarzentrum für die Frauenarbeit von ECLAT eröffnet werden. Immerhin handelt es sich dabei um fünf Gebäude: ein Dormitorium mit 30 Betten, ein Wasch- und Toilettenhaus, eine Mensa mit Küche, ein Gebäude mit Unterrichtsraum und Büros und ein Wohnhaus für die Seminarleiterinnen. Julia Hannig von der deutschen Botschaft in Dar es Salaam und Sören Hartmann, CEO der DER Touristik Group, eröffneten das Zentrum mit einem symbolischen Schnitt durch das Abtrennband: Neben dem Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) hatte die DER Touristik freundlicherweise die Finanzmittel zum Bau des Zentrums zur Verfügung gestellt.

In derselben Woche begannen bereits die Seminare. 30 Frauen der ersten Gruppe trafen sich eine Woche lang im Zentrum, um sich unter der Führung der beiden Seminarleiterinnen über ihre Gruppe Gedanken zu machen: über Erfolge und Misserfolge ihrer wirtschaftlichen Aktionen mit den ihnen gewährten Mikrokrediten, über Gesundheit, Bildung, Kindererziehung, Hygiene und Familienplanung. Für eine Massai-Frau, die in der Regel nicht lesen und schreiben kann und ihr Boma normalerweise nicht ohne die Zustimmung ihres Mannes verlassen darf, ist die Teilnahme an einem mehrtägigen Seminar etwas völlig Neues.

Ein Schaf als Dank einer Frauengruppe an Philomena, Leiterin der Frauenarbeit von Eclat

Bisher wurden den Frauen nur wenige Rechte zugestanden; eine solche Anerkennung, wie es die Teilnahme an einem Seminar bedeutet, hatten sie noch nicht erlebt. Jede Woche findet nun für eine andere Frauengruppe ein solches Seminar statt – das Seminarzentrum wird die Massai-Kultur in starkem Maße beeinflussen.

Das wurde auch bereits bei der Eröffnungsfeier deutlich: Die Frauen durften vorne unter Sonnenschutzplanen und auf Stühlen sitzen, die Männer standen hinten. Und statt langer Reden hatten die Frauen sich viele Tänze und Gesänge erbeten. So entspannten sich nach und nach auch die skeptischen Gesichter der Männer in den hinteren Reihen. Am Ende der Feier standen dann alle auf, Frauen wie Männer, und kamen mit strahlenden Gesichtern nach vorne, um ja nichts zu verpassen. Die stille Revolution hat begonnen.

Abschlussfeier der Sekundarschule Emboreet

Erste Experimente im Chemie-Laboratorium der Sekundarschule

Ein paar Tage vorher, am 29. September 2017, fand die diesjährige Schulabschlussfeier an der Sekundarschule in Emboreet statt. Zum ersten Mal konnten auch Schüler der Oberstufe teilnehmen, denn seit Juli findet für 58 Schüler der erste und einzige Oberstufenunterricht im ganzen Distrikt statt. Ehrengast war wieder einmal Joel Bendera, Regional Commissioner der Manyara Region. In allen Ansprachen wurde der Wert von Schulbildung angesprochen, und die Eltern wurden ermutigt, ihre Kinder zur Schule zu schicken. Die steigende Zahl der Schulanfänger an den Primarschulen zeigt, dass dieser Einsatz Früchte trägt.

Traditionsgemäß konnten ECLAT und upendo während dieser Feier auch wieder fertige Gebäude an den Staat als Betreiber der Schule übergeben. Dank der Unterstützung durch die Fürsorge- und Bildungsstiftung konnten in diesem Jahr bereits drei naturwissenschaftliche Fachräume (Laboratorien) für Biologie, Chemie und Physik gebaut werden, in denen die Schüler nun an experimentelles Lernen herangeführt werden. Diese Fachräume sind ein fester Bestandteil von Sekundarschulen in Tansania, insbesondere wenn der Ausbildungsschwerpunkt einer Schule naturwissenschaftlich und technisch orientiert ist wie der in Emboreet.

Renovierung von Grundschulen

Übergabe der renovierten Klassenräume der Primarschule Loiborsoit

Im ersten Halbjahr 2017 konnte ECLAT zudem die Klassenräume der Grundschulen in Loiborsoit und Narakauo renovieren. Und Dank teilweise neuer Schulmöbel sitzen die Kinder nun nicht mehr in halb zerfallenen Klassenräumen auf zerbrochenen Bänken. Wir haben ihnen auch neue Toiletten gebaut: Die Zahl der Latrinen reichte bei weitem nicht mehr aus; viele waren unbenutzbar. Die Primarschule in Emboreet ist für die weit entfernt lebenden Kinder eine Internatsschule: Damit die Kinder dort einigermaßen adäquat untergebracht und versorgt werden können, hat ECLAT hier die Dormitorien und die Mensa renoviert. Die bisherigen 50 Jahre alten Gebäude waren heruntergekommen und nicht mehr benutzbar – und motivierten die Eltern nicht gerade, ihre Kinder im Grundschulalter der Schule anzuvertrauen, weshalb die Kinder zu Hause blieben. Wir danken DERPART, DER Touristik, der Erbacher-Stiftung, Fly&Help und den Schmitz-Stiftungen für die Finanzmittel, die diese Renovierungen möglich gemacht haben.

Fotos:
Rüdiger Fessel (Oktober 2017)

© 2014-2019 upendo e.V
Fotos © 2014-2019 Rüdiger Fessel
Design & techn. Implementierung: netzwerkstudio
Verantwortlich für Inhalte: Tim Müller
Übersetzungen: Marita Sand