With our first newsletter we want to provide you with some background information on the ECLAT project in Tanzania. upendo was originally founded for the support of this project which we will present in this newsletter. Subsequently we will give account about who we are, about our network in Tanzania and we will explain the role of the Foundation for Care and Education.

 

IT STARTED A LONG TIME AGO

 
Many years ago, when Toima Kiroya and his wife Philomena were still children each family was obliged by the Tanzanian state to send at least one child to school. Toima was too young at that time to herd the sheep, the goats and cattle so it was him who was sent to school. Also Philomena befitted from school education which was quite unusual in Maasai society which hardly respects women. Attending a primary school in their home village Emboreet they both recognized the importance of qualified education.
The Maasai population presently doubles in less than 20 years. The total population was 840,000 at the census in 2013 compared to 377,000 in the year 1993 and 400,000 in the year 2003.
The economic competitiveness of the Maasai depends on their cattle but its numbers cannot be deliberately raised. Whole flocks die due to overgrazing and to lack of water. As a consequence the Maasai become more and more impoverished and can no longer participate in the economic development of their country. Poverty is closely linked to the lack of education and according to the last census the rate of illiterates amounts to 73%in the Simanjiro District where Toima and his wife live.

 

SOLIDARITY WITH THEIR OWN TRIBE

 
Toima and Philomena have realized the relevance of education both for their own lifes as well as that of their 4 children. Today Toima is a District Commissioner and as such an appointed civil servant installed by the head of the government. Their children go to the secondary school or to university. Nevertheless Toima and Philomena have not forgotten their origins: they have built a house in the village where they were born and where Philomena lives today with her family even though Toima due to his professional obligations can spend only very little time in his village. The couple`s house is part of a traditional kraal and can be well discerned on a satellite shot on Google Earth: 3°57’34.42‘‘S, 36°26’09.26‘‘O.

 

ESTABLISHING A SECONDARY SCHOOL AND WOMEN`S PROJECTS

 
But the two strove for more: together with friends they founded a charity, the ECLAT Foundation, in order to establish a secondary school in their village. There are public schools (with limited effectiveness as the rate of illiterates shows) but no secondary schools. Therefore they initiated the construction of a school with their own means. They tried to get as much financial support as possible in Tanzania. However the means available in Tanzania are rather limited and accordingly the school is a small one. In 2013 Emboreet secondary school students for the first time celebrated their final examination after 4 years in school. Today, 5 years after the beginning of the project, 133 students attend the school.
To stay in her place of birth was important for Philomena because she attempts to improve the situation of women in Maasai society. Supported by the Belgian Embassy she initiated women and micro credit projects – a task which no European educated as he or she may be, nor a man or a woman from another tribe would have been able to manage successfully. Philomena and Toima remained faithful to their dream: to show their own tribe, the Maasai, a way out of a seemingly hopeless situation. When they received the Belgian Harubuntu award for the ECLAT project in Brussels in 2011 this was an acknowledgement of their commitment and encouraged them not to give up.

 

THE SECONDARY SCHOOL IN EMBOREET

 
Also in Tanzania schools have to be constructed and managed according to state requirements. The ECLAT Foundation closely cooperates with the responsible governmental departments thus performing an important controlling and managing function in the school board. That way the school adjusts to the state school system – a prerequisite for sustainability. The school is meant to be handed over to the state which will be responsible for the school and which for example will employ the teachers. As a consequence the school will not be dependent on sponsors for decades. The sponsors “only” need to help with establishing the school. So far there is only one building with only a few classrooms, one of which is used as a room for staff and administrative matters. The teachers live in the former house of Toima and his family where they share a very confined space. They do not have a study to prepare classes or to assess student work. Like nearly all secondary schools in Tanzania Emboreet secondary school is also a boarding school. The students` families live far away and there are no busses or any other transport facilities. That is why the school in Emboreet has two dormitories so at least the girls can stay overnight. The boys live in the surrounding villages and some of them still have to walk a long way to school every day.

 

FRESH WATER FOR THE SCHOOL

 
Water is scarce in Emboreet and the dry season lasts 7 months. Hardly anybody has a ground water pump and the ground water level lies deep. At the beginning of 2014 the Welfare and Education Foundation provided money for the school`s supply of water. A well has been sunk and a water tank was built. The water pump from Germany and its supply of energy through solar panels is on its way to Tanzania. It is meant to pump 30 m3 clean water into the tank from a depth of 90 metres daily enough water for a much greater number of students.

 

THE FIRST SCHOOL GRADUATION…

 
… took place in October 2013. I was invited as guest of honour. It was a great and colourful celebration. To attend the event the students` relatives came from far away villages, some even from several days march away. They wanted to witness how their children celebrated their graduation. Above all however they wanted to see their big white hope and example, Toima Kiroya, and naturally his wife who has become an important model for Maasai women. They both come from Emboreet and are still members of the village community – it is obvious that they adhere to their origins. Thanks to the education they have enjoyed they have become rich and influential to a certain degree and they even have made friends in Europe. One of their friends –it was me-was brought along to the first graduation. The celebration lasted a whole day, the students sang and danced, long speeches were delivered and the students received their certificates with beaming faces. Their joy was infecting and their relatives were filled with pride.
More and more the population of the Simanjiro District gains a taste for formal education and there is a growing number of parents wanting for a better future for their children.

CategoryInfobrief
© 2014-2019 upendo e.V
Photos © 2014-2019 Ruediger Fessel
Design & techn. implementation: netzwerkstudio
Responsible for content: Tim Mueller
Translation: Marita Sand

In unserem ersten Informationsbrief möchten wir vor allem den Hintergrund des tansanischen Partnerprojekts ECLAT vorstellen, das wir unterstützen wollen und für das UPENDO ins Leben gerufen wurde. Wir möchten später dann mehr über uns, unsere Kontakte und Besuche in Tansania und die Rolle der Fürsorge- und Bildungsstiftung berichten.

Vor vielen Jahren, als Toima Kiroya und seine Frau Philomena noch kleine Kinder waren, verlangte der tansanische Staat von jeder Maasai-Familie, mindestens ein Kind zur Schule zu schi­cken. Toima war damals als Jüngster zu klein zum Hüten der Schafe, Zie­gen und Rinder – und deshalb war er es, der zur Schule geschickt wurde. Auch Philomena kam in den Genuss einer für Mädchen ungewöhnlichen Schulbildung, denn Frauen werden in der Maasai-Kultur bis heute kaum respektiert. So gingen die beiden gemeinsam in ihrem Heimatdorf Emboreet in die Grund­schule und erkannten die Bedeutung einer guten Ausbildung.

Die Maasai-Bevölkerung verdoppelt sich zurzeit in weniger als 20 Jahren. Bei der Volkszählung 2013 lag die Bevölkerungszahl bei 840.000. In 2003 lag die Zahl bei 400.000 Maasai und 1993 bei 377.000 Maasai. Ihre wirtschaftliche Leistungsfähigkeit hängt von ihren Rindern ab, aber die Zahl der Rinder lässt sich nicht beliebig steigern. Überweidung und Verdursten ganzer Her­den sind Realität. So verarmen die Maasai und verlieren mehr und mehr den Anschluss an die allgemeine Entwicklung des Lan­des. Armut aber ist eng mit fehlender Bildung gekoppelt – und im Simanjiro-Bezirk, in dem Toima und seine Frau leben, be­trägt die Analphabetenrate nach der letzten Volkszählung 73 Prozent.

DEM EIGENEN VOLKSSTAMM VERBUNDEN

Toima und Philomena haben die Bedeutung der Bildung für sich und ihre vier Kinder erkannt: Toima ist heute als District Commis­sioner ein hoher politischer Beamter, der vom Staatspräsidenten als Regierungschef in einen Distrikt entsandt wird. Ihre Kinder gehen ganz selbstverständlich zur Sekundarschule oder schon zur Universität. Aber Toima und Philomena haben ihre Abstam­mung und ihre Heimat nicht vergessen: Sie haben sich in ihrem Heimatdorf ein Haus gebaut, in dem Philomena mit der Familie lebt, auch wenn Toima berufsbedingt nur selten zuhause ist. Ihr Haus ist im traditionellen Kraal in „Google Earth“ gut zu erken­nen, auch wenn die Satellitenaufnahme schon einige Jahre alt ist.

SEKUNDARSCHULBEGINN UND FRAUENPROJEKTE

Doch die beiden wollten mehr: Gemeinsam mit Freunden grün­deten sie einen Verein, die ECLAT-Foundation, um in ihrem Dorf eine weiterführende Schule zu bauen. Es gibt dort nämlich staatliche Grundschulen (wenn auch mit nur geringer Wirkung, wie die Analphabetenrate zeigt), aber keine weiterführenden Schulen. Deshalb haben sie mit eigenen Mitteln den Bau einer Schule begonnen. Soweit möglich, haben sie finanzielle Unterstützung in Tansania zu finden gesucht. Aber die zur Verfügung stehenden Mittel sind gering und die Schule entsprechend klein. 2013 konnten zum ersten Mal Schülerinnen und Schüler nach vier Schuljahren ihren ordinary Abschluss (Realschulabschluss) feiern. Heute, fünf Jahre nach Projektbeginn, besuchen 133 Schüler die Schule.

In ihrer Heimat zu bleiben, war für Philomena auch deshalb wichtig, weil sie die Stellung der Frauen in der Maasai-Gesellschaft zu verbessern sucht: Sie hat mit der finanziellen Unterstützung durch die belgische Botschaft Frauen- und Mikrokreditprojek­te gegründet, die sie leitet und betreut – eine Aufgabe, die kein Europäer mit noch so guter Bildung, kein Mann und auch keine Frau eines anderen Volksstamms leisten könnte. Philomena und Toima sind ihrem Traum treu geblieben, der eigenen Volksgrup­pe, den Maasai, einen Weg aus seiner scheinbar ausweglosen Situation aufzuzeigen. 2011 haben sie dafür in Brüssel den bel­gischen Harubuntu-Preis verliehen bekommen, als Anerkennung für ihren Einsatz und als Ermutigung, nicht aufzugeben.

DIE SEKUNDARSCHULE IN EMBOREET

Auch in Tansania müssen Schulen gemäß staatlicher Vorgaben gebaut und betrieben werden. Die ECLAT-Foundation arbeitet deshalb eng mit den zuständigen Regierungsstellen zusam­men und nimmt im Vorstand der Schule eine wichtige Kont­roll- und Leitungsfunktion ein. So passt sich die Schule in das staatliche Schulsystem ein, und auch für ihre Nachhaltigkeit ist gesorgt: Die Schule soll dem Staat übergeben werden, der hat die Verantwortung für die Schule und stellt z. B. die Lehrer ein. Die Schule wird somit nicht jahrzehntelang von den Sponsoren abhängen. Diese müssen „nur“ helfen, die Schule aufzubauen. Bisher steht nur ein Gebäude mit wenigen Klassenzimmern, von denen ein Raum als Lehrerzimmer und Verwaltungsraum genutzt wird. Die Lehrer wohnen im ehemaligen Wohnhaus von Toima und seiner Familie auf engem Raum zusammen; ein Arbeits­zimmer zur Vor- oder Nachbereitung des Unterrichts haben sie nicht. Wie fast alle Sekundarschulen des Landes ist auch die in Emboreet eine Internatsschule. Die Familien der Schüler woh­nen weit weg, Bus- oder andere Transportmöglichkeiten gibt es nicht. Deshalb hat die Schule in Emboreet zwei Dormitories, in denen wenigstens die Mädchen übernachten können. Die Jun­gen wohnen in den Dörfern der näheren Umgebung und müssen (noch) täglich weit laufen.

FRISCHES WASSER FÜR DIE SCHULE

Wasser ist in Emboreet knapp, und die Trockenzeit ist sieben Monate lang. Eine Grundwasserpumpe hat kaum jemand, der Grundwasserpegel liegt tief. Anfang 2014 hat die Fürsorge- und Bildungsstiftung bereits Geld für die Wasserversorgung der Schule zur Verfügung gestellt: Ein Brunnen wurde gebohrt und ein Was­sertank gebaut. Die Wasserpumpe aus Deutschland und deren Energieversorgung mit Solarpanelen ist auf dem Weg nach Tan­sania. Sie soll aus 90 Metern Tiefe täglich etwa 30 m3 sauberes Wasser in den Tank pumpen – genug Wasser auch für eine weit größere Schülerzahl.

DIE ERSTE SCHULABSCHLUSSFEIER…

… fand im Oktober 2013 statt. Dr. Fred Heimbach war als Ehrengast dazu gela­den. Es war ein großes, buntes Fest. Die Familienangehörigen waren von weither gekommen, zum Teil mehrere Tagesmärsche weit. Sie wollten miterleben, wie ihre Kinder den Schulabschluss feierten. Vor allem aber wollten sie ihren großen Hoffnungsträger und ihr Vorbild sehen, Toima Kiroya, und natürlich seine Frau, die für die Maasaifrauen eine wichtige Leitfigur geworden ist. Die Bei­den stammen aus Emboreet und gehören nach wie vor zur Dorf­bevölkerung, weil sie erkennbar zu ihrer Herkunft stehen. Durch Bildung sind sie zu so etwas wie Reichtum und auch zu Einfluss gekommen – sogar zu Freunden in Europa. Einen Freund, nämlich Dr. Fred Heimbach, hatten sie zu der ersten Abschlussfeier mitgebracht. Das Fest dauerte den ganzen Tag, die Schüler sangen und tanzten, es wurden lan­ge Reden gehalten, und die Schüler nahmen mit strahlendem Gesicht ihre Urkunden in Empfang. Ihre Freude war ansteckend und der Stolz der Familienangehörigen groß.
Mehr und mehr kommt die Bevölkerung im Simanjiro-Bezirk auf den Geschmack von Schulbildung, und die Zahl der Eltern, die ihren Kindern eine bessere Zukunft wünschen und sie zur Schule schicken, wächst.

CategoryInfobrief
© 2014-2019 upendo e.V
Fotos © 2014-2019 Rüdiger Fessel
Design & techn. Implementierung: netzwerkstudio
Verantwortlich für Inhalte: Tim Müller
Übersetzungen: Marita Sand