Herbert Reul, Minister of the Interior of the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany, and patron of upendo on behalf of MIK NRW, Photo:
Jochen Tack

Dear members and supporters of upendo,

as Dr. med. Fred Heimbach asked me if I could imagine becoming an upendo patron, I immediately pledged. Because I think the commitment of the association is unique and exemplary. Upendo shows very impressively that we can all make a difference when we do something. Carried by the idea of charity and a deep knowledge of the country, its culture and people, upendo in Tanzania is advancing important projects. It’s about education. It’s about health. It’s about equal opportunities. In short, it’s about making people’s lives better. It is my personal concern to make the important work of the association even better known. I look forward to working on it as a patron in the future. And I hope that together we can do more for the people of Tanzania.

Yours sincerely, Herbert Reul


WHO ist upendo, HOW does it work and WHAT does upendo do?

upendo is an association that promotes development cooperation at the local level in Africa, especially in Tanzania. The project work is planned and carried out in close cooperation and coordination with the state government, which ultimately bears the responsibility for the country and its people. During more than 20 years of project work Dr. Fred Heimbach, the founder of the association, has built up a large, effective network of local leadership from development projects and state politics. The regular consultations in Tanzania at the district and government level as well as with the German Embassy are an important and groundbreaking foundation of our work.

At upendo only locals work on site. In our two partner organizations, ECLAT and PAMS, all project leaders are skilled locals who want to help their compatriots out of poverty and backwardness and shape their cultural progress themselves. Familiar with the culture of their fellow human beings, they can make fundamental changes and communicate in a way that they find acceptance.

Visit to the Prime Minister (from left to right: Joachim Buchmüller, Bakiri Angalia, Toima Kiroya, Kazim Majaliwa, Fred Heimbach, 15.08.2018)

In August 2018, during the meeting in the state capital Dodoma,Prime Minister Kazim Majaliwa especially welcomed our efforts to support state schools in the country. The financial means of the Government are far from sufficient to keep the many schools in the country (about 15,000 primary schools and 3,500 secondary schools) in an acceptable condition. Majaliwa, on behalf of the Tanzanian government, thanked the people and organizations in Germany who are helping through upendo and ECLAT to improve the educational situation in Tanzania. In addition to the construction of schools upendo is also committed to the empowerment of women in the Maasai culture. Also in the field of conflict between man and nature together with our partner organization PAMS we want to work on achieving a sustainable coexistence of the country` s national parks of the country and the adjacent inhabitants.


Where does upendo operate?


Partner organization ECLAT

Philomena and Toima Kiroya, founders and heads of ECLAT

Toima and Philomena Kiroya founded the ECLAT Development Foundation in Tanzania some years ago to help people of their ethnic group, the Maasai, out of backwardness and poverty in a remote area of Tanzania. The focus of their work, carried out in close cooperation with project manager Bakiri Angalia, is on school education and women’s projects to empower women. Our partner organization ECLAT is considered by the state as one of the best NGOs, also because the organization spends only a small part of the money for administration.

After much effort, the acceptance of the projects has become very concrete in the population.
Awareness of the need for education and training is growing. With the approval of tribal elders and husbands, women can now have a say in cultural progress. They are allowed to gather, own personal property, attend multi-day seminars, and learn to economize. This revaluation of women is a blatant step in the cultural development of the still backward Maasai ethnic group. With incipient self-confidence and the first insights of women in economic contexts, many things can change positively. This enables a social change that empowers people to help themselves instead of remaining or becoming dependent. The first step has already been taken. In concrete terms, this also means that more parents, especially the responsible women, send their children more frequently and regularly to school. Therefore, the existing schools urgently need to be expanded or renovated; new schools are needed.


School expansion of Primary schools

Exchange of documents for the transfer of the new satellite school in Loiborsoit “A” (18.08.2018)

Primary schools in remote parts of Tanzania, such as the Simanjiro district, are mostly in a catastrophic state – many were built in the colonial era for only a few students.,
Compared to the past a much higher number of students- often more than 100 children in each classroom – is taught in these buildings today, although almost nothing has been renovated since then. Of course, this does not motivate parents to send their children to school, especially since the school routes are often 10 kilometers and more and there are no other means of transport than their own feet. In 2018, we built a total of 7 primary schools in Tanzania: 2 schools were expanded, 2 schools renovated and 3 new schools built. It is always a special honor and pleasure to participate in the festivities to hand over a new or refurbished school to the municipality and the Tanzanian state as operator of the school.

Exchange of documents for the transfer of the new satellite school in Loiborsoit “A” (18.08.2018)

Impression of a visitor: Besides my interest in people, I also wanted to look at the buildings from the perspective of an architect. The services of the contractor, who was commissioned with the respective complete service covering the foundation to the painting, made a stable and technically clean impression. On the other hand, I was shocked by the condition of the schools we visited in the villages of the district: classrooms with broken floors, leaking and partly missing roofs, inadequate and desolate sanitary facilities etc.

Joachim Buchmüller (August 2018, abridged)


Emboreet Secondary School

Our most important and largest school project is the construction of the secondary school in Emboreet over a 6-year period. In addition to the connection of the remaining buildings to the school’s own solar power network, ECLAT built another girls’ dormitory in 2018, a computer room equipped with 21 computers and a central library, which we were able to hand over to the government on 20 October 2018. The number of students has already risen to about 500; and the results of the final exams at the end of 2018 were really good. The handover of the new homes for teachers in February 2018 sparked great joy: The teachers are now spared long marches to school and back home which also has a positive effect on the student care and teaching.

The new computer room in the secondary school of Emboreet


Laying the foundation stone for the craftsmen center

Laying the foundation stone for the craftsmen center(20.10.2018)

For all of our construction work in the Simanjiro district, the craftsmen come from outside the district. And: many of our students fail to graduate from secondary school with a school-leaving certificate and therefore do not qualify to study. We have therefore decided to build a craftsmen school in Emboreet to offer young people from the District a career perspective. Later they should be able to build up an existence in the district. Thanks to the support of the BMZ (Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development), the construction work for the center began in October 2018, so that in the middle of 2019 the first young people can begin their bricklayer apprenticeship.


Women’s work by ECLAT

Meeting with a women’s group in the village

As an educated Maasai, Philomena’s task is to improve the position of women in their society. She lives in her home village and working from there she first made sure that women get together in groups, talk to each other and try together to earn some money. For Maasai women who are normally only allowed to leave their “boma” on special occasions and whose belongings belong to their husbands, these are revolutionary changes. Within just a few years, these meetings have become a matter of course for women. The women have clearly become more self-confident and independent. And – which is at least as important: the men accept this development thanks to the influence of Toima.

Production of liquid soap

ECLAT looks after 75 groups of 30 women each. At their regular meetings, women in a group talk to each other about what’s on their minds. Philomena and her contributers continuously take part in their meetings in the village. In 2018 10 women’s groups received again a “microcredit” as start-up capital. The women decide how they want to manage the money, e.g. by the operation of a corn mill, the manufacture of bricks, the production and distribution of liquid soap, by sewing etc. Some groups are very successful, others less so.

Handover of a corn mill (19.08.2018)

Impression of visitors: We were particularly impressed by the cultural development of the Maasai ethnic group. The progress is largely due to the valorization of the Maasai women. There are now many age-mixed groups of women who are regularly visited in their villages and are also taught several days in Emboreet in the Women’s Center with the approval of their men. We have experienced that an intensive exchange with the Maasai women is also possible non-verbally. We felt how important it was for them to have women from Europe visit them and that they considered this visit to be a sign of high.

Alina and Ute Gosger, Zita Schwarz (August 2018, shortened)


Seminar Center for the Women’s Groups

Lessons about family planning at the seminar center (22.08.2018)

While the women usually meet for a few hours in their villages, they meet in the seminar center for a whole week where they are taught by two teachers. Most of the women have never sat at a school desk. Here they will learn important things about hygiene and health, about dealing with money, education and since 2018 also about family planning. The strong population growth of the Maasai is a serious problem. Family planning, family violence and the circumcision of the girls before the wedding are important topics. Information about contraception takes place cautiously, because the acceptance by the men is not yet very pronounced. The women are referred to state district health centers, where they can get advice and treatments, and receive sanitary products for free.


PAULA waterproject in Sukoro

Clean drinking water for Sukoro

In the village of Sukoro, a PAULA water filtration plant was opened at the beginning of 2017. From a reservoir in which thousands of cattle, sheep and goats bathe and drink every day, water is taken from the middle of the lake and processed in the container through membranes to produce clean and germ-free drinking water. Solar cells installed above the containers deliver the energy required for this purpose. Under the supervision of ECLAT, the village’s water committee in 2018 has reliably taken over its task of operating the plant, so that the village is supplied with good quality drinking water on a daily basis.


Partnerorganisation PAMS

Fence for the protection of fields against elephants

With the PAMS Foundation we work together in the field of conflict between man and nature. The elephants in the world-famous Ngorongoro Crater do not only linger in the crater, but embark on centuries-old hiking trails. However, the strong growth of the Tanzanian population means that people create fields in more and more areas of the country. During the rainy and harvest season also the elephants like to come to the fields to eat them bald – and people are starving. At the Ngorongoro crater, PAMS built a protective fence in 2018 along the fields of a corridor: the “fence” consists of cloths dipped in chili-brew. The sense of smell of elephants is highly sensitive, they stay away from the fence. During the nocturnal wanderings in the corridor not more elephants have entered the adjoining fields or in the villages. The farmers learn to protect themselves and their fields and to live with the wild animals. Only then are they willing to accept the national park idea and the right to life of the wild animals. After all, the national parks are an important source of income for the country.

PAMS textbook “Help for Brother Rhino”

In a series of secondary schools east and west of the Tarangire National Park, PAMS in 2018 also carried out the educational project “Living in Harmony with Nature”. We want to increase awareness of the importance of wildlife and the conservation of natural resources in the population. The “club” is very popular with the students. They learn about the meaning of nature and animal protection and the planting of trees, and they visit the national parks. They learn to understand the relevant and most important environmental problems of their region. The teaching and learning material developed by PAMS is of high pedagogical value. It has been successfully implemented in schools, so that the increase in learning in the understanding of contexts can be clearly recognized.


Income of upendo in 2018

upendo would like to thank all those who support our work in any way, also on behalf of the people concerned in Tanzania.
Special thanks for the support granted to upendo in accordance with the Cash Report 2018 goes to the Circle of Friends and the following organizations:

item GmbH


Expenses of upendo in 2018

According to the cash report in 2018 upendo had the following expenditure for the realization of the projects in Tanzania:

For upendo transparency is a central issue. Our annual cash reports are subject to an external audit by the independent external tax consultancy JC Junga Consulting GmbH in Solingen, Germany. The records underlying the 2018 upendo cash report were also reviewed by this tax consultancy and assessed for compliance. The tax consulting firm JC Junga Consulting GmbH has certified in the letter of 11.04.2019 the correctness of the cash report for the year 2018, which is also published on our homepage, indicating the cash balance at the beginning and end of 2018.


Information event on April 14, 2018

from left to right: Minister of the Interior Herbert Reul, Mayor Frank Steffes, Rebecca Trienekens-Domrös, Philomena Kiroya, Fred Heimbach, Toima Kiroya

Philomena and Toima Kiroya expressed their appreciation and gratitude at the upendo information event on April 14, 2018 in Leichlingen, Germany. They gave to Mr. Reul, Minister of the Interior of the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia and patron of upendo, as well as to Mr. Steffes, mayor of the city of Leichlingen, a traditional Tanzanian present: typical local clothing and a shepherd’s crook – for the Maasai a symbol of leadership and power.

Visitor impressions: Access to education is the key to a self-determined life and the foundation for the further development of a society. The fear of the loss of traditions – probably one of the reasons why education has so far not been a high priority for the Maasai – is not ungrounded. It is therefore a difficult balancing act to point out ways and possibilities of a better future for the Maasai, without prescribing them compulsively from without. If it were possible to see further development as an opportunity and not as a threat, a great deal would have been won. The prerequisite for this is education, which ultimately cannot be achieved without education.

Sibylle Eck and Alexander Nikolakis (February 2018, shortened)

Photos: J. Buchmüller, R. Fessel, U. Gosger, F. Heimbach, A. Salzmann

Translation german to english: Marita Sand

© 2014-2019 upendo e.V
Photos © 2014-2019 Ruediger Fessel
Design & techn. implementation: netzwerkstudio
Responsible for content: Tim Mueller
Translation: Marita Sand

NRW Innenminister Herbert Reul
im Auftrag des MIK NRW, Foto:
Jochen Tack

Liebe Mitglieder und Unterstützer von upendo,

als Dr. Fred Heimbach mich gefragt hat, ob ich mir vorstellen könnte, upendo-Schirmherr zu werden, habe ich sofort zugesagt. Denn ich finde das Engage­ment des Vereins einmalig und vorbildlich. Upendo zeigt sehr eindrucksvoll, dass wir alle etwas bewegen können -wenn wir etwas tun. Getragen von der Idee der Nächstenliebe und einer großen Kenntnis des Landes, der Kultur und der Menschen bringt upendo in Tansania wichtige Projekte voran. Es geht um Bildung. Es geht um Gesundheit. Es geht um Gleichberechtigung. Kurzum: Es geht darum, das Leben der Menschen besser zu machen. Mir ist es ein persön­liches Anliegen, die wichtige Arbeit des Vereins noch bekannter zu machen. Ich freue mich darauf, daran als Schirmherr künftig mitarbeiten zu dürfen. Und ich hoffe, dass wir gemeinsam noch mehr für die Menschen in Tansania bewegen können.

Ihr Herbert Reul


WER ist upendo, WIE arbeitet upendo und WAS macht upendo?

upendo ist ein Verein zur Förderung der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit auf kommunaler Ebene in Afrika, insbesondere in Tansania. Die Projektarbeit wird in enger Zusammenarbeit und Abstimmung mit der Staatsregierung, welche letztlich die Verantwortung für Land und Leute trägt, geplant und durchge­führt. Dr. Fred Heimbach, Begründer des Vereins, hat in mehr als 20-jähriger Projektarbeit ein großes, wirkungsvolles Netzwerk einheimischer Führungsper­sonen aus Entwicklungsprojekten und der Landespolitik aufgebaut. Die regel­mäßigen Beratungen in Tansania auf Distrikts- und Regierungsebene sowie mit der Deutschen Botschaft sind eine wichtige und wegweisende Grundlage unse­rer Arbeit.

Bei upendo arbeiten nur Einheimische vor Ort. In unseren beiden Partnerorga­nisationen ECLAT und PAMS sind alle Projektleiter befähigte Ein­heimische, die ihren Landsleuten aus Armut und Rückständigkeit heraushelfen wollen und ihren kulturellen Fortschritt selbst gestalten. Mit der Kultur ihrer Mitmenschen bestens vertraut, können sie grundlegende Änderungen einlei­ten und auf eine Weise vermitteln, dass sie Akzeptanz finden.

Besuch beim Ministerpräsidenten (v.l.n.r. : Joachim Buchmüller, Bakiri Angalia, Toima Kiroya, Kazim Majaliwa, Fred Heimbach; 15.08.2018)

Im August 2018 begrüßte Premierminister Kazim  Majaliwa beim Treffen in der Landeshauptstadt  Dodoma insbesondere unsere Bemühungen, staatliche Schulen im Land zu unterstützen. Die Möglichkeiten der Regierung reichen bei Weitem nicht  aus, die vielen Schulen im Land (ca. 15.000 Primarschulen und 3.500 Sekundarschulen) in einem akzeptablen Zustand zu halten. Majaliwa bedankte sich im Namen der tansanischen Regierung bei den Menschen und Organisationen in Deutschland, die durch upeno und ECLAT mithelfen, die Bildungssituation in Tansania zu verbessern. Neben dem Bau von Schulen setzt sich upendo auch für die Stärkung der Frauen in der Massai-Kultur ein. Und mit unserer Partnerorganisation PAMS möchten wir im Konfliktfeld zwischen Mensch und Natur auf eine nachhaltige Koexistenz der Nationalparks des Landes und der angrenzenden Bewohner hinwirken.


Wo wirkt upendo?


Partnerorganisation ECLAT

Philomena und Toima Kiroya, Gründer und Leiter von ECLAT

Toima und Philomena Kiroya haben vor einigen Jahren in Tansania die ECLAT Development Foundation gegründet, um den Menschen ihrer Volksgruppe, den Massai, in einer abgeschiedenen Gegend Tansanias aus Rückständigkeit und Armut herauszuhelfen. Die Schwerpunkte ihrer Arbeit zusammen mit dem Projektmanager Bakiri Angalia liegen im Bereich Schulbildung und in Frauenprojekten zur Stärkung der Rolle der Frauen. Unsere Partnerorganisation ECLAT wird vom Staat als eine der besten NGOs angesehen, auch weil die Organisation nur einen kleinen Teil des Geldes für Verwaltung ausgibt.

Nach längerem Bemühen zeigt sich inzwischen in der Bevölkerung die Akzeptanz der Projekte ganz konkret. Das Bewusstsein für die Notwendigkeit von Bildung und Ausbildung wächst zusehends. Mit Billigung der Stammesältesten und der Ehemänner können Frauen nunmehr den Kulturfortschritt mitbestimmen. Sie dürfen sich versammeln, persönliches Eigentum besitzen, an mehrtägigen Seminaren teilnehmen, und sie lernen zu wirtschaften. Diese Aufwertung der Frau ist ein eklatanter Schritt in der kulturellen Weiterentwicklung der bisher noch rückständigen Volksgruppe der Massai. Mit sich anbahnendem Selbstbewusstsein und ersten Einblicken der Frauen in wirtschaftliche Zusammenhänge kann sich vieles positiv verändern. Das ermöglicht einen sozialen Wandel, der Menschen befähigt, sich selbst zu helfen, anstatt abhängig zu bleiben oder abhängig zu werden. Der erste Schritt dazu ist bereits vollzogen. Konkret bedeutet das auch, dass mehr Eltern, vornehmlich die dafür zuständigen Frauen, ihre Kinder immer häufiger und auch regelmäßig zur Schule schicken. Deshalb müssen die bestehenden Schulen dringend ausgebaut oder renoviert werden; neue Schulen werden gebraucht.


Schulausbau Primarschulen

Die renovierte Primarschule im Ortskern von Loiborsoit „A“

Die Primarschulen in abgelegenen Gegenden Tansanias wie dem Simanjiro-Distrikt sind zumeist in einem katastrophalen Zustand – viele wurden noch in der Kolonialzeit für nur wenig Schüler gebaut. Obwohl seitdem so gut wie nichts renoviert wurde, wird heute dort eine vielfache Schülerzahl unterrich­tet, oft mehr als 100 Kinder je Klassenraum. Das motiviert Eltern natürlich nicht, ihre Kinder zur Schule zu schicken, zumal die Schulwege oft 10 Kilometer und mehr weit sind und es keine anderen Transportmöglichkeiten als die eige­nen Füße gibt. 2018 haben wir an insgesamt 7 Primarschulen Tansanias gebaut: 2 Schulen wurden erweitert, 2 Schulen renoviert und 3 neue Schulen gebaut. Es ist jedes Mal eine besondere Ehre und Freude, an den Feierlichkei­ten zur Übergabe einer neuen bzw. renovierten Schule an die Kommune und den tansanischen Staat als Betreiber der Schule teilzunehmen.

Austausch der Urkunden zur Übergabe der neuen Primarschule in Loiborsoit „A“

Eindruck eines Besuchers: Neben meinem Interesse an den Menschen wollte ich mir auch die Gebäude aus der Perspektive eines Architekten anschauen. Die Leistungen des Bauunternehmers, der mit der jeweiligen Komplettleistung vom Fundament bis zum Anstrich beauftragt wurde, machten einen stabilen und handwerklich sau­beren Eindruck. Erschrocken war ich dagegen über den Zustand der von uns besuchten Schulen in den Dörfern des Distrikts: Klassen­räume mit kaputten Fußböden, undichte und z.T. fehlende Dächer, unzu­reichende und desolate sanitäre Einrichtungen u.v.m.

Joachim Buchmüller (August 2018, gekürzt)


Sekundarschule Emboreet

Unser wichtigstes und größtes Schulprojekt ist der Bau der Sekundarschule in Emboreet über einen Zeitraum von insgesamt 6 Jahren. Neben dem Anschluss der restlichen Gebäude an das schuleigene Solarstrom-Netz wurde 2018 von ECLAT ein weiteres Dormitorium für Mädchen gebaut, ein mit 21 Computern ausgestattetes Computerraum und eine zentrale Bücherei, die wir am 20. Oktober 2018 an die Regierung übergeben konnten. Die Schülerzahl ist bereits auf etwa 500 gestiegen; und die Ergebnisse der Abschlussprüfungen Ende 2018 waren richtig gut. Auch die Übergabe der neuen Wohnhäuser für Lehrer im Februar 2018 löste große Freude aus: Den Lehrern bleiben nun lange Märsche zur Schule und nach Hause erspart, was sich auch positiv auf die Schülerbe­treuung und den Unterricht auswirkt.

Der neue Computerraum an der Sekundarschule in Emboreet


Grundsteinlegung zum Handwerkerzentrum

Grundsteinlegung zum Handwerkerzentrum (20.10.2018)

Für alle unsere Baumaßnahmen im Simanjiro-Distrikt kommen die Handwerker von außerhalb des Distrikts. Und: Viele unserer Schüler schaffen keinen Schul­ab­schluss, der sie zu einem Studium qualifiziert. Wir haben daher beschlossen, in Emboreet eine Handwerkerschule zu bauen, um Jugendlichen aus dem Dis­trikt eine Berufsperspektive zu bieten. Später sollen sie sich im Distrikt eine Existenz aufbauen können. Dank der Unterstützung durch das BMZ (Bundes­ministe­rium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung) haben die Baumaßnahmen für das Zentrum im Oktober 2018 begonnen, sodass bereits Mitte 2019 die ersten Jugendlichen ihre Maurerlehre beginnen können.


Frauenarbeit von ECLAT

Philomena Kiroya bei einem Treffen mit einer Frauengruppe

Philomena hat sich als gebildete Massai zur Aufgabe gesetzt, die Stellung der Frauen in ihrer Gesell­schaft zu verbessern. Sie lebt in ihrem Heimat­dorf und hat von dort aus zunächst dafür gesorgt, dass sich Frauen in Gruppen zusammentun, miteinander reden und gemeinsam versuchen, sich etwas Geld zu erwirtschaften. Für Massai-Frauen, die normal­erweise ihr „Boma“ nur zu besonderen Anlässen verlassen dürfen und deren Besitz ihren Männern gehört, sind das revolutionäre Veränderungen. Innerhalb nur weniger Jahre sind diese Treffen für die Frauen zu einer Selbstverständlichkeit geworden. Die Frauen sind deutlich erkennbar selbstbewusster und unab­hängiger geworden. Und – was mindestens genauso wichtig ist: Die Männer akzeptieren dank des Einflusses von Toima diese Ent­wicklung.

Herstellung von flüssiger Seife

ECLAT betreut 75 Gruppen von je 30 Frauen. Bei ihren regelmäßigen Treffen reden die Frauen einer Gruppe miteinander über das, was sie beschäftigt. Phi­lomena und ihre Mitarbeiterinnen nehmen immer wieder an ihren Treffen im Dorf teil. Auch 2018 haben wieder 10 Frauengruppen einen „Mikrokredit“ als Startkapital erhalten. Die Frauen entscheiden, in welcher Form sie mit dem Geld wirtschaften wollen, z.B. durch den Betrieb einer Maismühle, der Her­stellung von Ziegelsteinen, der Herstellung und dem Vertrieb von flüssiger Seife, durch Näharbeiten u.v.m. Manche Gruppen sind sehr erfolgreich, andere weniger.

Übergabe einer Maismühle (19.08.2018)

Eindrücke von Besuchern: In besonderer Weise beeindruckt waren wir von einer kulturellen Weiterentwicklung der Volksgruppe der Massai. Der Fort­schritt voll­zieht sich maßgeblich über die Aufwertung der Massaifrauen. Es gibt inzwischen viele altersgemischte Frauengruppen, die regelmä­ßig in ihren Dör­fern besucht werden und darüber hinaus mit Billigung ihrer Männer mehrtägig in Emboreet im Frauenzentrum unterrichtet werden. Wir haben erlebt, dass für uns intensiver Austausch mit den Massaifrauen auch nonverbal gut möglich ist. Wir spürten, wie wichtig ihnen der Besuch von Frauen aus Europa war, den sie als große Wert­schätzung empfanden.

Alina und Ute Gosger, Zita Schwarz (August 2018, gekürzt)


Seminarzentrum für die Frauengruppen

Die Frauengruppe aus Kaangala beim Unterricht im Seminarzentrum

Während die Frauen sich sonst für ein paar Stunden im Dorf treffen, kommt im Seminarzentrum eine Gruppe für eine Woche zusammen und wird dort von zwei Lehrerinnen unterrichtet. Die meisten der Frauen haben nie auf einer Schulbank gesessen. Hier erfahren sie Wichtiges über Hygiene und Gesundheit, den Umgang mit Geld, Erzie­hung und seit 2018 auch über Familienpla­nung. Das starke Bevölkerungswachstum der Massai ist ein ernst zu nehmendes Problem. Familienplanung, Gewalt in der Familie und die Beschneidung der Mädchen vor der Hochzeit sind wichtige Themenbereiche. Informationen über Schwangerschaftsverhütung erfolgen behutsam, weil die Akzeptanz vonseiten der Männer noch nicht sehr ausgeprägt ist. Die Frauen werden an staatliche Gesundheitsstationen des Distrikts verwiesen, wo sie sich beraten und behan­deln lassen können und kostenfrei Hygieneartikel erhalten.


PAULA Wasserprojekt in Sukoro

Sauberes Trinkwasser für Sukoro

Im Dorf Sukoro wurde schon Anfang 2017 eine PAULA Wasserfiltrationsanlage eröffnet. Aus einem Stausee, in dem täglich tausende Rinder, Schafe und Zie­gen baden und saufen, wird in der Seemitte Wasser entnommen und im Con­tainer durch Membrane zu sauberem und keimfreiem Trinkwasser aufbereitet. Über den Containern installierte Solarzellen liefern die dafür benötigte Energie. Unter der Supervision von ECLAT hat das Wasserkomitee des Dorfes in 2018 seine Aufgabe zum Betrieb der Anlage zuverlässig übernommen, sodass das Dorf täglich mit Trinkwasser von guter Qualität versorgt wird.


Partnerorganisation PAMS

Zaun zum Schutz von Feldern vor Elefanten

Mit der PAMS Foundation arbeiten wir im Konfliktfeld zwischen Mensch und Natur zusammen.Die Elefanten im weltberühmten Ngorongoro-Krater ver­weilen nicht nur im Krater, sondern machen sich auf jahrhundertealte Wander­wege. Das starke Wachstum der tansa­nischen Bevölkerung führt aber dazu, dass die Menschen an immer mehr Stellen des Landes Felder anle­gen. Wäh­rend der Regen- und Erntezeiten kommen aber auch die Elefanten gerne auf die Felder, um sie kahl zu fressen – und die Menschen leiden Hunger. Am Ngoron­goro-Krater hat PAMS 2018 einen Schutzzaun entlang der Fel­der eines Korridors errichtet: Der „Zaun“ besteht aus in Chili-Sud getauchten Tüchern. Der Geruchssinn von Elefanten ist hoch sensibel, sie bleiben dem Zaun fern. Nicht ein Elefant ist während der nächtli­chen Wan­derungen im Korridor auf die daran angrenzenden Felder oder in die Dörfer gekommen. So lernen die Bau­ern, sich und ihre Felder zu schützen und mit den wilden Tieren zu leben. Nur dann sind sie auch bereit, den National­park-Gedanken und das Lebensrecht der wilden Tiere zu akzeptieren. Immerhin sind die Nationalparks eine wichtige Einnahmequelle für das Land.

Das von PAMS gedruckte neue Schullehrbuch „Hilfe für Bruder Nashorn“

An einer Reihe von Sekundarschulen östlich und westlich des Tarangire-Natio­nal­parks hat PAMS 2018 auch das Bildungspro­jekt „Leben in Harmonie mit der Natur” durchge­führt. Wir möchten damit das Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung der Wildtiere und die Erhaltung der natürlichen Ressourcen in der Bevölkerung erhöhen. Der „Club” ist bei den Schülern sehr beliebt. Sie lernen den Sinn von Natur- und Tierschutz, das Anpflanzen von Bäumen, und sie besuchen die Nationalparks. Dabei lernen sie, die relevanten und wichtigsten Umwelt­pro­bleme ihrer Region zu verstehen. Das von PAMS entwickelte Lehr- und Lehr­material ist pädagogisch wertvoll. Es wird in den Schulen erfolgreich einge­setzt, sodass sich der Lernzuwachs im Verstehen von Zusammenhängen deut­lich erkennen lässt.


Einnahmen von upendo im Jahr 2018

upendo bedankt sich bei all denen, die unsere Arbeit in jedweder Form unter­stützen, auch im Namen der betroffenen Menschen in Tansania. Besonderer Dank für die upendo gemäß dem Kassenbericht 2018 gewährte Unterstüt­zung geht an den Freundeskreis und folgende Orga­nisationen:

item GmbH


Ausgaben von upendo im Jahr 2018

upendo hatte 2018 für die Realisierung der Projekte in Tansania gemäß dem Kassenbericht im Jahr 2018 folgende Ausgaben:

Für upendo ist Transparenz ein zentrales Thema. Unsere jährlichen Kassen berichte unterliegen einer externen Prüfung durch die unabhängige externe Steuerberatungsgesellschaft JC Junga Consulting GmbHin Solingen. Auch die dem Kassenbericht 2018 von upendo zugrunde liegenden Aufzeichnungen wurden von dieser Steuerberatungsgesellschaft begutachtet und auf Ord­nungsmäßigkeit beurteilt. Die Steuerberatungsgesellschaft JC Junga Consulting GmbH hat upendo im Schreiben vom 11.04.2019 die Richtigkeit des Kassenbe­richts für das Jahr 2018 testiert, der mit Angabe des Kassenbestands Anfang und Ende 2018 auch hier auf unserer Homepage veröffentlicht ist.


Informationsveranstaltung am 14. April 2018

Informationsveranstaltung am 14. April 2018 in Leichlingen; v.l.n.r: Innenminister Herbert Reul, Bürgermeister Frank Steffes, Rebecca Trienekens-Domrös, Philomena Kiroya, Fred Heimbach, Toima Kiroya

Ein Zeichen ihrer Anerkennung und Dankbarkeit setzten Philomena und Toima Kiroya bei der Informationsveranstaltung von upendo am 14. April 2018 in Leichlingen. Sie beschenkten Herrn Reul, Innenminister von NRW und Schirm­herr von upendo, als auch Herrn Steffes, Bürgermeister der Stadt Leich­lingen, traditionell mit landestypischer Kleidung und einem Führungsstab – bei den Massai ein Symbol für Leiterschaft und Macht.

Eindrücke von Besuchern: Der Zugang zu Bildung ist der Schlüssel zu einem selbstbestimmten Leben und das Fundament für die Weiterentwicklung einer Gesellschaft. Die Furcht vor dem Verlust der Traditionen – wohl mit einer der Gründe, weshalb Bildung bislang keinen hohen Stellenwert bei den Massai hatte – ist nicht unbegründet. Es ist daher ein schwieriger Balanceakt, Wege und Möglichkeiten einer besseren Zukunft für die Massai aufzu­zeigen, ohne diese zwanghaft von außen vorzuschreiben. Wenn es gelänge, Weiterentwick­lung als Chance zu verstehen und nicht als Bedrohung, wäre sehr viel gewon­nen. Die Voraussetzung dafür ist Aufklärung, die letztlich ohne Bildung nicht zu erreichen ist.

Sibylle Eck und Alexander Nikolakis (Februar 2018, gekürzt)

Fotos: J. Buchmüller, R. Fessel, U. Gosger, F. Heimbach, A. Salzmann

© 2014-2019 upendo e.V
Fotos © 2014-2019 Rüdiger Fessel
Design & techn. Implementierung: netzwerkstudio
Verantwortlich für Inhalte: Tim Müller
Übersetzungen: Marita Sand