The primary school in Emboreet made a miserable impression on our first visit in 2015. The school was built in 1956 by the Catholic Church. At that time it was the first school in the Simanjiro district. In 1972 she was transferred to the state after independence as “Simanjiro Primary School”. Since then, practically nothing has been repaired or renovated at the school.

The school is run as a day school for the children living in the village and the children in the vicinity, as a boarding school for the children from the distant villages. Of the then 566 students (328 boys and 238 girls) of the school only about 60% attended the lessons. The parents took their children out of school especially in the cool season and did not bring them back, mainly because the dormitories were in a dreadful condition: the window glasses were missing or broken (the area is more than 1000 m above NN and it gets cold at night). The floor had big and deep holes, the walls as well. Many of the bunk beds were damaged and no longer usable, the mattresses partially literally shredded. The remaining beds were intact, but their number was not enough, so sometimes three children had to sleep in one bed. There were no blankets to cover, but chickens that came into the rooms through the open windows and doors and soiled the beds. The classrooms were neglected: small and large holes in the walls and in the floor, a few school desks, some of them no longer usable, almost all windowpanes broken or missing. In the cafeteria there were neither tables nor chairs. The cooking ovens were operated with firewood, but were broken on the outside. The chimney had a hole of half a meter in diameter on the outside wall so that one could look into the stoves from the outside. The homes of the teachers were in a similar state.

There are nine classrooms at the school and ten teachers (six of whom are female teachers), none of whom understand English, nor does the headmistress. Seven of the classrooms had an urgent need for renovation: in a first renovation phase in 2016, we decided to rebuild these classrooms: cracks were plastered, walls reinforced, the leaky roof repaired, windows and doors repaired, the floors repaired, and so on. Not all school benches could be repaired, so we also had to buy new school benches.

Overview of the individual project steps:

  • Renovation of the classrooms in 2016
  • Repair and purchase of school desks in 2016
  • Official opening and handover to the government as operator of the school on July 29, 2016

We thank DER Touristik and Fly & Help for the financial support of this project.

DER TOURISTIK FOUNDATION

DER TOURISTIK FOUNDATION

With approx 9,400 employees, 7.7 million guests and a global network of agencies, DER Touristik is present almost everywhere in the world. This global presence entails a responsibility towards the environment and people. With the initiative "DER Welt verpflichtet - DER Bildung ein Zuhause geben" DER Touristik is actively involved in environmental protection as well as in numerous social projects.
FLY & HELP

FLY & HELP

The main objective of our foundation “Reiner Meutsch Stiftung FLY & HELP”is the promotion of education. With the help of donations new schools are build in developing countries. FLY & HELP supports the projects of upendo.
[/column]
Simanjiro Primary School in Emboreet | Renovation of the classrooms
Date

Friday July 29th, 2016

Client

ECLAT

Category

2016, ECLAT, Primary Schools

Write a comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Die Primarschule in Emboreet machte bei unserem ersten Besuch im Jahre 2015 einen erbärmlichen Eindruck. Die Schule wurde 1956 von der katholischen Kirche gebaut; damals war es die erste Schule im Simanjiro Distrikt überhaupt. 1972 wurde sie nach der Unabhängigkeit als „Simanjiro Primary School“ dem Staat übergeben. Seitdem wurde an der Schule praktisch nichts repariert oder renoviert.

Die Schule wird für die im Dorf lebenden Kinder und die Kinder der näheren Umgebung als Tagesschule betrieben, für die Kinder aus den weiter entfernten Dörfern als Internat. Von den damals 566 Schülern (328 Jungen und 238 Mädchen) der Schule erschienen nur etwa 60% zum Unterricht. Die Eltern holten ihre Kinder vor allem in der kühlen Jahreszeit aus der Schule und brachten sie nicht wieder zurück, vor allem weil die Dormitorien in einem schrecklichen Zustand waren: Die Fenstergläser fehlten oder waren zerbrochen (die Gegend liegt über 1000 m über N.N. und es wird nachts kalt). Der Fußboden hatte große und tiefe Löcher, die Wände ebenfalls. Viele der Etagenbetten waren beschädigt und nicht mehr benutzbar, die Matratzen teilweise regelrecht zerfetzt. Die restlichen Betten waren zwar intakt, ihre Zahl reichte aber nicht aus, so dass manchmal drei Kinder in einem Bett schlafen mussten. Decken zum Zudecken gab es nicht, wohl aber Hühner, die durch die offenen Fenster und Türen in die Räume kamen und die Betten beschmutzen. Die Klassenräume waren verwahrlost: kleine und große Löcher in den Wänden und im Boden, wenige Schulbänke, einige davon nicht mehr verwendbar, fast alle Fensterscheiben zerbrochen oder fehlend. In der Mensa gab es weder Tische noch Stühle. Die Kochöfen wurden mit Brennholz betrieben, waren aber an der Außenseite zerbrochen. Der Kamin hatte an der Außenwand ein Loch von einem halben Meter Durchmesser, so dass man von außen in die Öfen hineinsehen konnte. Die Wohnhäuser der Lehrer waren in einem ähnlichen Zustand.

Es gibt neun Klassenräume an der Schule und zehn Lehrer (davon sechs Lehrerinnen), von denen nie­mand Englisch versteht, genauso wenig wie die Schulleiterin. Sieben der Klassenräume hatten einen dringenden Renovierungsbedarf: wir haben uns entschieden, in einer ersten Renovierungsphase 2016 zunächst einmal diese Klassenzimmer wiederherzustellen: Wandrisse wurden verputzt, Wände verstärkt, das undichte Dach geflickt, Fenster und Türen instand gesetzt, die Fußböden ausgebessert, usw. Da sich nicht alle Schulbänke reparieren ließen, mussten wir auch neue Schulbänke kaufen.

Übersicht über die einzelnen Projektschritte:

  • Renovierung der Klassenräume in 2016
  • Reparatur und Neuanschaffung von Schulbänken in 2016
  • Offizielle Eröffnung und Übergabe an die Regierung als Betreiber der Schule am 29. Juli 2016

Wir danken der DER Touristik und Fly & Help für die Finanzierung dieses Projektes.

DER TOURISTIK FOUNDATION

DER TOURISTIK FOUNDATION

Die DER Touristik ist mit knapp 9.400 Mitarbeitern, 7,7 Millionen Gästen und einem Netz an Agenturen fast überall auf der Welt präsent. Mit der Initiative „DER Welt verpflichtet – DER Bildung ein Zuhause geben“ unterstützt das Reiseunternehmen den Bau und Ausbau von Schulen in Ländern, in denen Kinder und Jugendliche in besonderem Maße bessere Bildungs- und somit Zukunftschancen benötigen.
FLY & HELP

FLY & HELP

Die Reiner Meutsch Stiftung FLY & HELP wurde 2009 gegründet. Das Hauptziel von FLY & HELP ist die Förderung von Schulbildung. Mit Hilfe der Spenden werden schwerpunktmäßig neue Schulen in Entwicklungsländern errichtet. Wir danken FLY & HELP für die Unterstützung der Projekte von upendo.
Primarschule | Renovierung der Klassenräume
Date

Freitag, der 29. Juli 2016

Client

ECLAT

Category

2016, ECLAT, Primarschule

Write a comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.