Along the borders of the national and animal parks of Tanzania, people live in confrontation with the aspects of animal and nature conservation. Only if they are not threatened by the wild animals in their existence and benefit from the tourism of the parks, they are willing to contribute to the idea of nature conservation. The PAMS Foundation works in Tanzania in this conflict area between the parks and the neighboring population. Upendo has already been able to facilitate such projects of PAMS in several places in Tanzania on the edge of national parks. The participating farmers learned how to grow chili and how to use chilli pods to soak cloths and then hang them on leashes along their fields. During the harvest season, elephant herds from the nearby parks like to come to their villages to harvest the fields – and that means hunger for the people. But elephants do not like chili, they avoid the cloth soaked in chili and leave the fields behind it alone. Not a single field was haunted by elephants in our projects. And the farmers, who had previously shown themselves skeptical and had not participated in the project, now also want to learn this simple method.

Overview of the individual projects:

  • 2015: Fences with cloth soaked in chili to protect fields from elephants at the Ruaha National Park (tier3 solutions GmbH)
  • 2016: Fences with cloth soaked in chili to protect fields from elephants in Emboreet (tier3 solutions GmbH)
  • 2016: Fences with cloth soaked in chili to protect fields from elephants in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area (DER Touristik)

We thank DER Touristik and tier3 Solutions for the financial support of this project.

DER TOURISTIK FOUNDATION

DER TOURISTIK FOUNDATION

With approx 9,400 employees, 7.7 million guests and a global network of agencies, DER Touristik is present almost everywhere in the world. This global presence entails a responsibility towards the environment and people. With the initiative "DER Welt verpflichtet - DER Bildung ein Zuhause geben" DER Touristik is actively involved in environmental protection as well as in numerous social projects.
tier3 Solutions

TIER3
SOLUTIONS

Tier3 solutions GmbH performs ecological field studies under GLP standards, which are required for the registration of pesticides. With help of tier3 Solutions GmbH the project "Chili Pepper Fences" of the PAMS Foundation was realized.
Fences with cloth soaked in chilli to protect fields from elephants
Date

Tuesday September 1st, 2015

Client

PAMS

Category

2015, 2016, PAMS

Write a comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Entlang der Grenzen der National- und Tier­parks Tansanias leben die Menschen in Kon­frontation mit den Aspekten des Tier- und Naturschutzes. Nur wenn sie nicht durch die wilden Tiere in ihrer Existenz bedroht sind und vom Tourismus der Parks profitieren, sind sie bereit, den Naturschutzgedanken mitzutragen. Die PAMS-Foundation arbeitet in Tansania in diesem Konfliktfeld zwischen den Parks und der angrenzenden Bevölkerung. Upendo konnte bereits solche Projekte von PAMS an mehreren Stellen in Tansania am Rand von Nationalparks ermöglichen. Die beteiligten Bauern lernten den Anbau von Chili und die Verwendung der Chili-Schoten zum Tränken von Tüchern, um diese dann entlang ihrer Felder auf Leinen zu hängen. Während der Erntezeit kommen gerne Elefantenherden aus den nahegelegenen Parks in ihre Dörfer, um dort die Felder abzuernten – und das bedeutet für die Men­schen Hunger. Aber Elefanten mögen Chili nicht, sie weichen den in Chili getränkten Tüchern aus und lassen die Felder dahinter in Ruhe. Kein einziges Feld wurde in unserem Projekten von Elefanten heimgesucht. Und die Bauern, die sich vorher skeptisch gezeigt und sich nicht am Projekt beteiligt hatten, wollen diese einfache Methode nun auch lernen.

Übersicht über die einzelnen Projekte:

  • 2015: Zäune mit in Chili getränkten Tüchern zum Schutz von Feldern vor Elefanten beim Ruaha Nationalpark (tier3 solutions GmbH)
  • 2016: Zäune mit in Chili getränkten Tüchern zum Schutz von Feldern vor Elefanten in Emboreet (tier3 solutions GmbH)
  • 2016: Zäune mit in Chili getränkten Tüchern zum Schutz von Feldern vor Elefanten in der Ngorongoro Conservation Area (DER Touristik)

Wir danken DER Touristik und tier3 Solutions für die finanzielle Unterstützung dieses Projektes.

DER TOURISTIK FOUNDATION

DER TOURISTIK FOUNDATION

Die DER Touristik ist mit knapp 9.400 Mitarbeitern, 7,7 Millionen Gästen und einem Netz an Agenturen fast überall auf der Welt präsent. Mit der Initiative „DER Welt verpflichtet – DER Bildung ein Zuhause geben“ unterstützt das Reiseunternehmen den Bau und Ausbau von Schulen in Ländern, in denen Kinder und Jugendliche in besonderem Maße bessere Bildungs- und somit Zukunftschancen benötigen.
tier3 Solutions

TIER3
SOLUTIONS

Tier3 solutions GmbH führt ökologische Freilandstudien unter dem GLP-Standard durch, welche für die Registrierung von Pflanzenschutzmitteln benötigt werden. Mit Hilfe der tier3 Solutions GmbH konnte das Projekt “Chili Pepper Fences” der PAMS Foundation realisiert werden.
Zäune mit in Chili getränkten Tüchern zum Schutz von Feldern vor Elefanten
Date

Dienstag, der 1. September 2015

Client

PAMS

Category

2015, 2016, PAMS

Write a comment:

You must be logged in to post a comment.